OTHM Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care.

Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care.

OTHM Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care.

Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care.

This qualification provides you with an excellent foundation into building a career within the Health and Social Care sector.

The objective of the RQF Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care is to
equip learners with the underpinning knowledge, understanding and skills required for a career in the health and social care sector at a support worker, senior support worker or care assistant level.

Successful completion of this qualification will support you to either progress to university, or provide you with the requisite skills and knowledge to enter the world of work within the Health and Social Care sector.

The programme enables learners to demonstrate their skills by producing evidence from
their work activities, to meet national occupational standards.
Learners will acquire skills to support a role in the Health and Social Care sector or progress
to further study.

 The OTHM Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Health and Social Care qualification represent practical knowledge, skills, capabilities and competences that are assessed in academic terms as being equivalent to GCE AS/A Levels.

The qualification consists of 6 mandatory units, for a combined total of 60 credits, 600 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and 120 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.

It is Awarding Body approved and regulated by 
Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) 

All fees paid for the qualification include:
1.e-portfolio allocation.
2.Tutor support.
3. Research and support materials.
4. Certificate issue.
5. Learner support if raised and identified.
6. FREE NUS discount card.
7. When on an instalment plan there is no interest rate charged.
8. Upon signing up for the qualification an agreed break in learning and qualification can be issued upon request as soon as it is identified and raised.

Skills you are expected to develop or demonstrate at level 3 within the Health and Social Care Sector (part of the 6 Cs in Health and Social Care).

Care and Compassion.

Caring defines both the profession and the people within the profession while  treating people with empathy, patience, understanding and consideration shows your compassion. You need to keep learning and practising in order to maintain the highest standards.

Competence and Communication.

Competence covers an understanding of everything to do with the service-user, including both their mental and emotional health, and their physical condition. In terms of communication, you need to think about how you adapt your communication to different situations and different service-users and think about how individuals including your colleagues will all have different ways of communicating with you.

Courage and Commitment.

Having courage is vital in a profession where you might have to make difficult decisions, or support people going through challenging experiences. You need to show commitment to each individual in your care, so they receive the best support. You also need to show commitment to continuously improving yourself and the overall care experience for all service-users.

Course structure

Below is a list of the mandatory units that make up the qualification. 
  • Responsibilities of a Health and Social Care worker (10 credits ).
  • Personal and Professional Development in Health and Social Care (10 credits ).
  • Effective Communication and Ethical Practice in Health and Social Care (10 credits ).
  • Health, Safety and Well-being in Health and Social Care Settings (10 credits ).
  • Person-centred Approaches in Health and Social Care Settings (10 credits).
  • Effective Handling of Information in Health and Social Care Settings (10 credits ).
  • Entry requirement:

    • Learner must be age 18 or over to be on the course.
    • Learner must have sufficient capability at the right level to undertake the learning and
    assessment criteria.

    Method of Assessment:
    This qualification is internally assessed and quality assured by Centre staff then externally quality assured. This is a knowledge and portfolio evidence gathering qualification.

    Knowledge evidence includes but not limited to written work completed then submitted online via the e-portfolio system, assignment tasks and where possible reports from work placement while considering GDPR as required as part of assessment.

    To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, you must provide evidence to demonstrate that you have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria. Judgement that you have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by your allocated Assessor.

    Support facility available:
    24/7 online access to e-portfolio available upon registration, including planned Tutor support.
    Hybrid teaching and learning takes place which include face to face where possible and virtual online classroom session.
    Research and support materials available to learner.

    Online e-learning platform is used to support learner while on the programme.
    Tutors are all sector expert with over 30 years combined experience of working and delivering within the Sector.

    Method of Payment:
    Employer funding and invoicing.
    Self funding available with the option of an instalment plan.
    For 2 monthly instalment payment plan, complete the contact us form below to make arrangement for instalment.  
    Contact us