RQF Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Nutrition and Health.

RQF Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Nutrition and Health.
RQF Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Nutrition and Health.

This qualification aims to develop learners’ understanding of nutrition, healthy eating and weight management. The qualification covers the principles of healthy eating and the nutritional needs of different groups. Learners will gain an understanding of how to plan healthy diets, weight management, eating disorders and the effects of both balanced and disordered eating on health and well-being.

The course contents include:

Unit 1: Explore the principles of healthy eating

This unit starts by looking at how diet affects a person’s health. Learners then look at how
the five food groups contribute to a healthy diet and the role of different nutrients in
maintaining health.

Unit 2: Consider the nutritional needs of a variety of individuals

This unit encourages learners to look at how nutritional needs vary with age. Learners
gain an understanding of the special dietary requirements of vegetarians, those with
certain religious beliefs and those with allergies. They also gain an awareness of the
factors that create barriers to healthy eating.

Unit 3: Use food and nutrition information to plan a healthy diet

In this unit Learners gain an awareness of the information that is provided on food labels and how this may be used to plan a healthy diet. They will learn the facts behind nutritional claims on food labels and will consider the advantages and disadvantages of using food additives. In the final section learners evaluate their own diet and make recommendations for improvement..

Unit 4: The principles of weight management

This unit aims to give learners an understanding of weight management and how to plan a short-term weight management programme.

Unit 5: Principles of food safety for the home environment

This unit provides learners with the knowledge and understanding to handle food safely
in a home environment. It includes knowledge in areas of personal hygiene, handling food, storage, temperature control, safe waste disposal, keeping work areas clean, and the effects of food hygiene effect on the nutritional value of food.

Unit 6: Understanding eating disorders

This unit gives learners an understanding of different types of eating disorders, how they
develop, their effect on health and well-being and how they may be managed.

This qualification is suitable for those who work with, or are intending to with, vulnerable Children, Young Adults and the Elderly within the health and social care or healthcare sector.

It is a qualification recognised by the Awarding Body, approved and regulated by Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) . It can be completed in 4-6 weeks.

Learners must complete all six mandatory units to gain the required 15 credits.
The total Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for this qualification is 126 hours. The Total
Qualification Time (TQT) for this qualification is 150 hours.

Progression opportunities
Learners who achieve this qualification could progress into:
Hospitality and Catering.

Active Leisure and Fitness.
Health and Social Care.

All fees paid for the qualification include:

1.e-portfolio allocation.
2.Tutor support.
3. Research and support materials.
4. Certificate issue.
5. Learner support if raised and identified.
6. FREE NUS / TOTUM discount card.
7. When on an instalment plan there is no interest rate charged.
8. Upon signing up for the qualification an agreed break in learning and qualification can be issued upon request as soon as it is identified and raised.

Course structure

Below is a list of Units that make up the qualification:
  • Explore the principles of healthy eating .
  • Consider the nutritional needs of a variety of individuals.
  • Use food and nutrition information to plan a healthy diet.
  • The principles of weight management.
  • Principles of food safety for the home environment.
  • Understanding eating disorders.

  • Entry requirement

    •There are no formal entry requirements for this qualification.
    • Learner must be aged 16 or above to undertake this qualification.

    •This qualification is suitable for those who work within the health and social care sectors.

    Method of Assessment:
    This qualification is internally assessed and quality assured by Centre staff then externally quality assured. This is a knowledge base qualification.

    Knowledge evidence includes but not limited to written work completed then submitted online via the e-portfolio system, assignment tasks and where possible reports from work can also be provided while considering GDPR as part of assessment.

    To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, you must provide evidence to demonstrate that you have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria. Judgement that you have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by your allocated Assessor.

    Support facility available:
    24/7 online access to e-portfolio available upon registration, including planned Tutor support.
    Hybrid teaching and learning takes place which include face to face where possible and virtual online classroom session.
    Research and support materials available to learner.

    Online e-learning platform is used to support learner while on the programme.
    Tutors are all sector expert with over 30 years combined experience of working and delivering within the Sector.

    Method of Payment:
    Employer funding and invoicing.
    Self funding available with the option of an instalment plan.
    For 2 monthly instalment payment plan, complete the contact us form below to make arrangement for instalment.  
    Contact us